beinganaupair.blogg.se

2013-09-16
10:48:50

What I'll miss the most
It's incredible how fast time passes! My host mother works as a midwife and has started to take up bookings for June already! I'm a pregnancy away from coming home again! 
 
I'm excited to go home and show everyone what I've been doing down here, but at the same time I really feel like I don't want to leave here. I feel more and more that being an au pair is not a job. It becomes more of a lifestyle after a while. 
I'm sure that not everyone agrees with me and it may seem strange, but that's the way I'm feeling now. I enjoy it so much to see how much the kids have developed during the time I've been here and I have only been here for about 3 months.Tyne has started talking for real and Tilly has found an interest in both reading and writing.You can really see the difference when you look back at how it was in the beginning.
 
Like I said, I often think of how it'll be when it's time for me to go home and when I think about I realise that I don't think I want to go home (not yet at least). Except for the wonderful host family that I've got, I'll miss the wonderful nice kiwi people that is here. 
Sweden is a country where people are known to be quite cold to strangers and when I compare the Swedes to the kiwis that I meet here, I have to agree. They are so much friendlier to strangers! I don't know if it's because I live in a region where a lot of tourists come in the summer, but I think that the kiwis in general are extremely friendly. 
Everytime we (me and the other au pairs here in Motueka) go out to eat or take a coffee the employees ask abou where we're from and what we're doing here. For how long we're going to stay and if we like New Zealand. And they actually seem interested in what you have to say
 
I know that i thought it was very weird in the beginning, when everybody asked how you were, but I wish that the Swedish people was a bit friendlier. I will miss it!
 

Kommentera inlägget här:
Namn: Kom ihåg mig?
Mailadress:  
Bloggadress:  
Kommentar: